Deo gratias

Johannes Ockeghem

Andreas Simbeni



Andreas Simbeni’s breathtaking arrangement of Johannes Ockeghem’s “Deo gratias” for a large horn ensemble with 36 horns is an impressive example of how historical choral music can be reinterpreted and brought to life for modern listeners. Ockeghem’s work, which dates back to the Flemish Renaissance, is famous for its polyphonic complexity and spiritual richness. Simbeni’s arrangement expands this complexity into a symphonic dimension, transferring the multi-layered voices to a horn ensemble capable of capturing the rich texture and celebratory character of the original.

The arrangement uses the impressive possibilities of the horns to create a comprehensive palette of dynamics and timbres, from the lowest basses to the highest sopranos. The need for 36 horn players to act as a coherent whole makes this piece a rare and valuable experience for musicians and listeners alike.

“Deo gratias” in this version is perfect for large ensemble performances, festive occasions and concerts looking for an impressive repertoire piece that leaves nothing to be desired in terms of both musical quality and performing presence. It is an opportunity to honor a deep musical heritage while celebrating the limitless possibilities of a horn ensemble.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12 chorales

Composer: Anton Bruckner

arr. Andreas Simbeni

Experience the spiritual depth and musical brilliance of Anton Bruckner with the collection "12 Chorales". This collection offers a diverse mix of sacred and secular works, from the sublime devotion of "In monte Oliveti" to the solemn beauty of "P...

Arrangements, Chamber music, Ensemble

Price:  25,00 97,90
12 duets

Composer: di Lasso

arr. Andreas Simbeni

Immerse yourself in the world of Renaissance music with the "12 Duets" by Orlando di Lasso, artfully arranged for two horns by Andreas Simbeni. This collection offers a musical experience that combines the timeless beauty of di Lasso's melodies wi...

Arrangements, Chamber music, Ensemble

Price:  15,00
A beauteous fair has stolen my heart

Composer: Callcott, John Wall

arr. Andreas Simbeni

Discover the romantic elegance of John Wall Callcott's "A beauteous fair has stolen my heart", masterfully arranged for horn trio by Andreas Simbeni. This piece interweaves the delicate poetry of the melody with the harmonic depth of three horns a...

Arrangements, Chamber music, Ensemble

Price:  16,00

Composer: Anton Bruckner

arr. Andreas Simbeni

Discover the moving C sharp minor Adagio from Anton Bruckner's 7th Symphony, a musical masterpiece full of depth and emotion. Composed in anticipation of Richard Wagner's death, this 2nd movement reflects deep mourning and reverence. Here...

Arrangements, Grade 3, Wind orchestra
Wind orchestra

Price:  25,00 79,90